## Minutes Transylvania County Board of Education May 24, 2011

The Transylvania County Board of Education met in special session at 7:00 p.m. on May 24, 2011 in the Brevard High School Auditorium for the 28<sup>th</sup> Annual Scholars Recognition Evening. Present were Chris Whitmire, Chairman; Tawny McCoy, Vice Chairman; Sue Fox; and Cindy Petit. Also present were Dr. Jeff McDaris, Superintendent; Dr. Scott Elliott, Director of 9-12 Curriculum and Instruction; and approximately 300 parents, students, and guests. Chairman Whitmire gave the welcome. Mrs. Petit led in a moment of silence and the Pledge of Allegiance. Mr. Whitmire thanked Child Nutrition Director, Carolyn Barton, and her staff for providing the buffet reception that was held earlier in the BHS cafeteria.

Mrs. Fox announced that the seniors named as Transylvania County Scholars have achieved overall four-year GPAs of 3.8 (weighted) and 3.5 (unweighted), while pursuing a rigorous academic curriculum. The underclassmen named as Sophomore Scholars and Junior Scholars are the highest ranking students in their classes whose records indicate that they too will graduate as Transylvania County Scholars. The students selected as Junior Marshals have especially impressive academic records and will lead the graduation processions. Principals Doug Odom and Brian Weaver, and Assistant Principals Arleca Chapman and Kerry Putnam joined the Board in presenting awards to the 67 students from Brevard High School and the 56 students from Rosman High School named as Scholars and Junior Marshals for 2011.

Dr. Scott Elliott announced the winners of the Jessie Lollis Scholarship for 2011. The Lollis award goes to one or more deserving student who has excelled in Health Occupations classes; exhibits strong character, good grades, and a strong desire to learn; and plans to continue in a health-related field of study after high school. Two \$250 scholarships were awarded to Ben Onnink, BHS; and Brittany Godwin, RHS.

Dr. Veressa Myers presented the Second Annual Hendersonville Pediatrics Resiliency Scholarship award to two students. Felecia Carver, BHS, received a \$1,000 scholarship and Olivia Miller, BHS, received a \$500 scholarship.

Vice Chairman McCoy announced the winners of the Dorothy S. Bjerg Good Citizenship Scholarships for 2011. Bjerg scholars must have 1) made outstanding contributions toward the improvement of their school and community, 2) been ranked in the top half of their class, and 3) been accepted at an accredited junior or senior college. This year's scholarship recipients were Lauren Fuller, BHS; and David Moman, RHS. Each student will receive \$500 per year, renewable for up to three additional years.

Mr. Bill Layton, representing the Connestee Falls Property Owners' Association, announced the winners of the Connestee Falls Scholarship awards for 2011. Four scholarships totaling \$2,500 were awarded to Shelby Evans, RHS; Nikki Houston, BHS; Kaleigh Whisenant, RHS; and Lydia Folckomer, BHS.

Chairman Whitmire reported that earlier in the year, each senior scholar had been given an opportunity to nominate a teacher who had given special inspiration during the student's K-12 years. Mr. Whitmire announced the 30 teachers who were named as Memorable Educators by the Class of 2011. Each honoree was presented with a memento by the student who had nominated him/her.

Dr. McDaris gave the closing remarks. The meeting adjourned at approximately 8:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,	
Chairman	Secretary

2

May 24, 2011