Minutes Transylvania County Board of Education May 20, 2010

The Transylvania County Board of Education met in special session at 7:00 p.m. on May 20, 2010 in the Brevard High School auditorium for the 27th Annual Scholars Recognition Evening. Present were Chris Whitmire, Chairman; Tawny McCoy, Vice Chairman; and Sue Fox. Also present were Dr. Jeff McDaris, Superintendent, and approximately 350 guests. Chairman Whitmire gave the welcome. Mrs. Fox led a moment of silence and the Pledge of Allegiance. Mr. Whitmire expressed appreciation to Child Nutrition Director Carolyn Barton and her staff for providing the buffet reception that was held earlier in the BHS cafeteria.

Mrs. Fox announced that seniors named as Transylvania County Scholars have maintained overall four-year GPAs of 3.8 (weighted) and 3.5 (unweighted) while pursuing a rigorous academic curriculum. Underclassmen named as Sophomore Scholars and Junior Scholars are the highest ranking students in their classes whose records indicate that they too will graduate as Transylvania County Scholars. The students selected as Junior Marshals have especially impressive academic records and will lead the graduation processions. Assistant Principals Arleca Chapman and Kerry Putnam and Principals Doug Odom and Brian Weaver joined the Board in presenting awards to the 64 students from Brevard High School and the 51 students from Rosman High School named as Scholars for 2010.

Brevard High School teacher, Andy VonCanon, announced the winner of the Transylvania Cattlemen's Association Scholarship for 2010. The \$1,000 scholarship was awarded to Fallon Newell. RHS.

Dr. Scott Elliott, Career/Technical Education Director, announced the winners of the Jessie Lollis Scholarship for 2010. The Lollis award goes to a deserving student (or students) who has excelled in Health Occupations classes and who plans to continue in a health-related field of study after high school. This year two \$250 scholarships were given to Stephanie Holden, BHS, and Brianna Reese, RHS.

Vice Chairman McCoy announced the winners of the Dorothy S. Bjerg Good Citizenship Scholarships for 2010. Bjerg scholars must exhibit outstanding academic achievement and a strong commitment to improving their school and community. This year's scholarship recipients were Leanna Hall, RHS, and Jacob Crabtree, RHS. Each student will receive \$500 per year, renewable for three additional years.

Mr. Bill Layton, representing the Connestee Falls Property Owners' Association, announced the winners of the Connestee Falls Scholarship awards for 2010. Four scholarships totaling \$2,175 were awarded to Victoria Hunter, RHS; Athena Demas, BHS; Savannah Bradley, BHS; and Erica Bagwell, RHS.

Dr. Ora Wells presented the First Annual Hendersonville Pediatrics Resiliency Scholarship award in the amount of \$1,000 to Brandy Anders, RHS.

Earlier in the year, each senior scholar had been given an opportunity to nominate a teacher who had given special inspiration during the student's school years. Chairman Whitmire announced the 26 teachers named as Memorable Educators by the Class of 2010. Each honoree was presented with a memento by the student who had nominated him/her.

Dr. McDaris gave the closing remarks. The meeting adjourned at approximately 8:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,		
Chairman	Secretary	

2

May 20, 2010