## Minutes Transylvania County Board of Education May 16, 2013 REVISED

The Transylvania County Board of Education met at 7:00 p.m. on May 16, 2013 in the Brevard High School Auditorium for the 30<sup>th</sup> Annual Scholars Recognition Evening. In attendance were Tawny McCoy, Chairman; Cindy Petit, Vice Chairman; Sue Fox and Mike Rogers. Also present were Dr. Jeff McDaris, Superintendent; Dr. Scott Elliott, Assistant Superintendent; and approximately 300 guests. Chairman McCoy gave the welcome, and Mr. Rogers led in a moment of silence and the Pledge of Allegiance. Chairman McCoy gave a special thanks to Carolyn Barton and the Child Nutrition staff for providing the wonderful buffet that was enjoyed earlier that evening.

Vice Chairman Petit reported that each of the seniors being recognized as Transylvania County Scholar has achieved an overall four-year GPA of 3.8 (weighted) and 3.5 (unweighted), all while pursuing a demanding academic curriculum. The students named as Sophomore Scholars and Junior Scholars are the highest ranking students in their classes whose records indicate that they too will graduate as Transylvania County Scholars. Students selected as Junior Marshals have impressive academic records and will lead the graduation processions. Rosman High School Principal Brian Weaver, RHS Assistant Principal Jason Ormsby, Brevard High School Principal Jeremy Gibbs and BHS Assistant Principals John Hart and Leca Chapman joined the Board in presenting awards to the 134 students who were recognized as Scholars and Junior Marshals for 2013.

Dr. Veresa Myers from Hendersonville Pediatrics presented the fourth annual Hendersonville Pediatrics Resiliency Scholarship Award to Cynthia Wood (BHS). Mr. Andy VonCanon, BHS Agriculture teacher, presented the Transylvania Cattlemen's Association Scholarship Awards to Montana Newell (RHS); Austin Owen (BHS), and James McJunkin (BHS).

Mrs. Sue Fox reported that the Dorothy Bjerg Good Citizen Scholarship Award was established to recognize one young woman and one young man who had made outstanding contributions toward the improvement of their school and community. The candidates must rank in the top half of their class and have been accepted at an accredited junior or senior college. Each winner receives \$500 per year, renewable for up to three additional years for a total of \$2,000. Mrs. Fox announced the Bjerg scholarship winners for 2013, Jessica Porter (BHS) and Brian Hollifield (RHS).

Mr. Bill Watson presented the Connestee Falls Scholarship Awards to Kayla Byrd (BHS), Clay Dotson (RHS), Danielle Little (BHS), and Allison Walker (BHS). This year each Connestee Falls scholarship winner received \$3,375 for their first year tuition.

Chairman McCoy reported that each Senior Scholar had been given an opportunity to nominate one educator who had given them special inspiration during their educational experience with TCS. The following individuals were named as Memorable Educators for 2013: Sara Cathey, Clare Desmelik, Tammy Hall, Trina Hendricks, Karen Kreigsman, Teresa Lawlis, Sarah Malmin, Kevin Merrill, Adrian Miller, Tammy Moman, Sarah Moser, Nicole Owenby, Renee Pagano, Angela Patane, Linda Peeples, Katrina Ronneburger, Jennifer Sensabaugh, Michael Shotwell, Carolyn Smith, Rivers Smith, Scott Strickler, Tom Thomas, Crystal Whitman, and Jennifer Williams. Each honoree was presented with a gift by the student(s) who had nominated him/her.

Dr. McDaris gave the closing remarks. The meeting adjourned at approximately 8:30 p.m. Respectfully submitted,

Chairman

Secretary