Minutes Transylvania County Board of Education May 15, 2014

The Transylvania County Board of Education met at 7:00 p.m. on May 15, 2014 in the Brevard High School Auditorium for the 31ST Annual Scholars Recognition Evening. In attendance were Tawny McCoy, Chairman; Cindy Petit, Vice Chairman; Sue Fox and Mike Rogers. Also present were Dr. Jeff McDaris, Superintendent; Dr. Scott Elliott, Assistant Superintendent; and approximately 300 staff members, students, parents, and guests. Chairman McCoy gave the welcome, and Mr. Rogers led in a moment of silence. Chairman McCoy gave a special thanks to Carolyn Barton and the Child Nutrition staff for providing the wonderful buffet that was enjoyed earlier that evening.

Mrs. Petit reported that each of the seniors being recognized as a Transylvania County Scholar has achieved an overall four-year GPA of 3.8 (weighted) and 3.5 (unweighted), all while pursuing a demanding academic curriculum. The students named as Sophomore Scholars and Junior Scholars are the highest ranking students in their classes whose records indicate that they too will graduate as Transylvania County Scholars. Students selected as Junior Marshals have especially impressive academic records and will lead the graduation processions. Mrs. Petit introduced the high school administrators who joined the Board in presenting awards to the 170 students who were recognized as Scholars and Junior Marshals for 2014.

Mrs. Sue Fox reported that the Dorothy Bjerg Good Citizen Scholarship, awarded in memory of Dorothy Silversteen Bjerg, was established to recognize one young woman and one young man who have made outstanding contributions toward the improvement of their school and community. The candidates must rank in the top half of their class and have been accepted at an accredited junior or senior college. Each of this year's recipients will receive \$750 for first year tuition, renewable for up to three additional years for a total of \$3,000. Mrs. Fox announced the Bjerg scholarship winners for 2014, Lauren Mahoney (RHS) and Caleb Perry (RHS).

Mr. Bill Watson of the Connestee Falls Property Owners Association presented the Connestee Falls Scholarship Awards for 2014 to Jenah McCall (RHS), Caitlin Owen (RHS), Devin Owen (RHS), Kristy Stodola (BHS), and Brittany Woods (BHS). Each Connestee Falls scholarship winner will receive \$3,000 for their first year tuition.

Chairman McCoy reported that each senior scholar had been given an opportunity to nominate one educator who had given them special inspiration during their educational experience with Transylvania County Schools. The following individuals were named as Memorable Educators for 2014: Glenda Bingle, Heidi Bullock, Linda Carrillo, Sam Cathey, Jennifer Cunniff, Martha Curto, Jeanne DeJong, Clare Desmelik, Bob Dinsdale, Christina Dodson, Kirk Dotson, Kenny Franklin, Jan Galloway, Tammy Hall, Adria Hardy, Trina Hendricks, Sarah Malmin, Amanda McCall, Dolly McCall, Kevin Merrill, Adrian Miller, Tammy Moman, Candice Owen, Brooks Owenby, Renee Pagano, Nancy Sanders, Betty Scruggs, Michael Shotwell, Heidi Spradlin, Scott Strickler, Josh Tinsley, Andy VonCanon, Jennifer Williams and Ashley Witt. Each honoree was presented with a gift by the student(s) who had nominated him/her.

Chairman	Secretary
responding submitted,	
Respectfully submitted,	
Dr. McDaris gave the closing remarks.	The meeting adjourned at approximately 8:30 p.m.