## Minutes Transylvania County Board of Education May 10, 2012

The Transylvania County Board of Education met at 7:00 p.m. on May 10, 2012 in the Brevard High School Auditorium for the 29<sup>th</sup> Annual Scholars Recognition Evening. Present were Chris Whitmire, Chairman; Tawny McCoy, Vice Chairman; Sue Fox; and Cindy Petit. Also present were Dr. Jeff McDaris, Superintendent; Dr. Scott Elliott, Director of 9-12 Curriculum and Instruction; and approximately 300 parents, students, presenters and guests. Chairman Whitmire gave the welcome, and Mrs. Fox led in a moment of silence and the Pledge of Allegiance. Mr. Whitmire expressed thanks to Child Nutrition Director, Carolyn Barton, and her staff for providing the buffet reception earlier in the evening.

Mrs. McCoy reported that the seniors named as Transylvania County Scholars have achieved overall four-year GPAs of 3.8 (weighted) and 3.5 (unweighted), while pursuing a demanding academic curriculum. The underclassmen named as sophomore scholars and junior scholars are the highest ranking students in their classes whose records indicate that they too will graduate as Transylvania County Scholars. The students selected as Junior Marshals have especially impressive academic records and will lead the graduation processions. Brevard High School Principal, Jeremy Gibbs; Rosman High School Principal, Brian Weaver; and Brevard High School Assistant Principals, Arleca Chapman and Dr. Kathy Haehnel, joined the Board in presenting awards to the 72 students from BHS and the 58 students from RHS who were named as Transylvania Scholars and Junior Marshals for 2012.

Dr. Scott Elliott announced the winners of the Jessie Lollis Scholarship for 2012. The Lollis award goes to one or more deserving students who have excelled in Health Occupations classes; exhibited strong character, good grades, and a strong desire to learn; and plan to continue in a health-related field of study after high school. Two \$250 scholarships were awarded to Josie Hamilton from BHS, and Brenna McJunkin from RHS.

Dr. Ann Farash presented the Third Annual Hendersonville Pediatrics Resiliency Scholarship awards. Anthony Perez, BHS, and Stephanie Godlove, BHS, each received a \$500 scholarship.

Andy VonCanon, Brevard High School Agriculture Teacher, announced the winners of the Transylvania Cattlemen's Association Scholarship. Zechariah Davis and Jennifer Badger from BHS each received \$1,000 scholarships.

Mrs. Fox announced the winners of the Dorothy S. Bjerg Good Citizenship Scholarships for 2012. Candidates for the Bjerg award must 1) have made outstanding contributions toward the improvement of their school and community, 2) rank in the top half of their class, and 3) have been accepted at an accredited junior or senior college. This year's scholarship recipients were Jennifer Badger, BHS, and Adam McCoy, RHS. Each student will receive \$500 per year, renewable for up to three additional years for a total of \$2,000.

Mr. Bill Layton, representing the Connestee Falls Property Owners' Association, announced the winners of the Connestee Falls Scholarship awards for 2012. Four scholarships totaling \$2,250 were awarded to Courtney Whisenant, RHS; Morgan Newman, BHS; Zechariah Davis, BHS; and Devon McIntosh, RHS.

Chairman Whitmire reported that each senior scholar had been given an opportunity to nominate a teacher who had given special inspiration during their educational experience. Mr. Whitmire announced the 29 teachers who were named as Memorable Educators by the 2012

senior scholars. Each honoree was presented with a memento by the student(s) who had nominated him/her.

Dr. McDaris gave the closing remarks. The meeting adjourned at approximately 8:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Secretary

2

May 10, 2012

Chairman