Minutes Transylvania County Board of Education May 26, 2009

The Transylvania County Board of Education met in special session at 7:00 p.m. on May 26, 2009, in the Brevard High School auditorium for the Twenty-Sixth Annual Scholars Recognition Evening. Board Chairman, Mike Rogers; Vice Chairman, Chris Whitmire; and members Tawny McCoy and Shelia Norman were present. Also present were Dr. Sonna Lyda and approximately 350 guests including faculty, staff, students, and parents. Mr. Whitmire gave the welcome and thanked Carolyn Gordon and the Child Nutrition staff for providing a marvelous buffet reception prior to the awards ceremony. Mrs. Norman led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Mrs. Norman introduced RHS Principal, Brian Weaver; RHS Assistant Principal, James Holmes; BHS Principal, Doug Odom; BHS Assistant Principal, Arleca Chapman; and BHS Assistant Principal, Kerry Putnam. The school administrators presented awards to the 112 sophomores, juniors and seniors named as Transylvania County Scholars. Junior Marshals were recognized also.

Mrs. McCoy introduced BHS teacher Andy VonCanon. Mr. VonCanon announced the winner of the Transylvania Cattlemen's Association Scholarship for 2009. The \$1,000 scholarship was awarded to Shaina Mason, BHS.

Dr. Jeff McDaris, CTE Director, announced the winner of the Jesse Lollis Scholarship for 2009. Teresa Suddeth, RHS, was awarded the \$500 scholarship.

Mrs. McCoy announced the Dorothy S. Bjerg Scholarship winners for 2009. Kayla Kreigsman, BHS, and Christian Rudd, BHS, won the Bjerg awards in the amount of \$500 per year, renewable for three additional years.

Mr. Bill Layton, representing the Connestee Falls Property Owners' Association, announced the winners of the Connestee Falls Scholarships for 2009. Four scholarships in the amount of \$1,500 per semester for the first year of college were awarded to Kayla Kreigsman, BHS; Tyler Meachum, BHS; Emily Robbins, RHS; and Thomas Moman, RHS.

Earlier in the year, each senior scholar had been given an opportunity to nominate a teacher who had given special inspiration during the student's school years. Chairman Rogers announced the 26 teachers named as Memorable Educators by the Class of 2009. Each honoree was presented a memento by the student who had nominated him/her.

Dr. Lyda gave special recognition to Mrs. Dian Brewton for her outstanding work in organizing the Transylvania County Scholar's Evening for the past several years. Mrs. Brewton will be retiring on June 30, 2009.

Dr. Lyda gave the closing remarks.	The meeting adjourned at approximately 9:00 p.m.
Respectfully submitted,	
Chairman	Secretary