

PUBLIC EDUCATION: NORTH CAROLINA'S BEST INVESTMENT

OFFICERS

PRESIDENT Roberta Scott Warren PRESIDENT-ELECT Carr Ipock Craven VICE PRESIDENT Minnie Forte-Brown Durham TREASURER Jackie Cole Alamance-Burlington **IMMEDIATE PAST** PRESIDENT Paige Sayles Franklin DIRECTORS Eltha Booth Beaufort David Brittain Catawba Charles Brown Scotland Amy Churchill Buncombe Todd Cutler Randolph Lisa Davis Anson Glorious Elliott Edenton-Chowan William Griffin Jones Bruce Hill Lenoir Sharron Huffman Wilkes Ron Kiviniemi Transylvania **Brian Piercy McDowell** Brenda Stephens Orange Earl Taylor Onslow Geoffrey Tennant Polk Barbara Yates Columbus PAST PRESIDENTS' COUNCIL Shearra Miller, 2013-14 Evelyn Bulluck, 2012-13

Everyn Buttuck, 2012-13 Chuck Francis, 2011-12 Wendell Hall, 2009-10 Kenneth Lanier, 2007-08 Linda Cranford, 2004-05 Leonard Peace, 2000-01 Dr. Christine Fitch, 1996-97 LEANNE E. WINNER Director of Governmental Relations

MEMORANDUM

Го:	Board Chairs
From:	Leanne E. Winner NCSBA Director of Governmental Relations
Date:	December 1, 2015
Re:	2016-17 NCSBA Legislative Committee Service
Cc:	Superintendents, Board Assistants

The North Carolina School Boards Association's Board of Directors is inviting each local school board to nominate one of its members to serve on NCSBA's Legislative Committee. This Committee is tasked with developing the draft biennium NCSBA legislative agenda for consideration and adoption by the Delegate Assembly, as well as reviewing ongoing legislative activity and providing guidance to the Board of Directors on legislative matters. It is comprised of a subset of the NCSBA BOD, the eight education district presidents, and eight "at-large" local board members nominated by their local board and selected by the NCSBA President. This "at-large" nomination and selection process provides an opportunity for the membership to become more directly involved in NCSBA's decision-making process. Terms of the appointed "at-large" members are two years.

Each board is invited to **nominate** one board member to serve on the committee. This individual should be nominated through a vote of the full board taken in open session. The nominee should complete the attached application form and return it to NCSBA via mail or fax by **February 15, 2016** (mailing address and fax number are below). Roberta Scott, NCSBA President, will appoint one applicant from each education district. Appointees will serve on the Committee for both the **2016** and **2017 calendars years**. All Committee meetings will be held at the NCSBA office building in Raleigh; NCSBA will reimburse for mileage to Raleigh and provide lunch for each meeting.

The Committee's first two meetings will be focused on the essential work of developing the draft 2017-18 NCSBA Legislative Agenda. It is **imperative** that **all** appointed "at-large" members be in attendance for <u>both</u> of these meetings, absent an emergency. The dates, times, and topics for these two meetings are as follows:

- Thursday, June 16, 2016, from 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM. The focus of this meeting will be on assembling the survey instrument to be used to establish the 2017-18 legislative agenda.
- Monday, August 29, 2016, from 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM. The focus of this meeting will be on discussing the legislative agenda survey results and setting the draft agenda that will be presented at district meetings and voted on by the delegate assembly at annual conference.

Please ensure that the individual your board nominates <u>can *commit* to both the above meeting</u> <u>dates</u>.

The Committee will also meet one time in 2017, with the date and time to be determined at a later point.

If you have any questions please contact Sean Holmes at 919.747.6688 or sholmes@ncsba.org.